American Geophysical Union experts available for interviews on Italian earthquake

24 August 2016


WASHINGTON, DC — At approximately 3:36 am local time on August 24, 2016, a magnitude 6.2 earthquake struck Italy near the town of Norcia, roughly 160 kilometers (100 miles) northeast of Rome. In the wake of this event, several American Geophysical Union experts are available to comment on the science of earthquakes and the potential impacts of this earthquake for the region.

Gregory Beroza
Stanford University
Email: beroza@stanford.edu
Phone: +1 (650) 723-4958

Alison Bird
Natural Resources Canada
Email: albird@nrcan.gc.ca
Phone: +1 (250) 363-6432

Jeffrey Park
Yale University
Email: jeffrey.park@yale.edu
Phone: +1 (203) 432-3172

Cindi Preller
NOAA
Email: cindi.preller@noaa.gov
Phone: +1 (907) 271-3352

Robert Smith
University of Utah
Email: robert.b.smith@utah.edu
Phone: +1 (801) 581-7129

Ross Stein
U.S. Geological Survey
Email: rstein@usgs.gov
Phone: +1 (650) 329-4840

Ben van der Pluijm
University of Michigan
Email: vdpluijm@umich.edu
Phone: +1 (734) 763-0373

###

The American Geophysical Union is dedicated to advancing the Earth and space sciences for the benefit of humanity through its scholarly publications, conferences, and outreach programs. AGU is a not-for-profit, professional, scientific organization representing more than 60,000 members in 139 countries. Join the conversation on FacebookTwitterYouTube, and our other social media channels.


AGU Contact:

Lauren Lipuma
+1 (202) 777-7396
llipuma@agu.org