2019 Class of AGU Fellows Announced

22 August 2019

AGU Press Contact:
Joshua Speiser, +1 202-777-7444, [email protected]

WASHINGTON, DC—The American Geophysical Union (AGU) has announced its 2019 Fellows, an honor given to individual AGU members who have made exceptional scientific contributions and gained prominence in their respective fields of Earth and space sciences. Since the AGU Fellows program was established in 1962, and according to the organization’s bylaws, no more than 0.1 percent of the total membership of AGU is recognized annually. This year’s class of Fellows are geographically diverse coming from 12 countries.

“The remarkable scholarship of the AGU 2019 Fellows is helping advance our understanding of our complex planet and the planetary space around us. Their discoveries are key foundations to the knowledge that will underpin our future sustainability on this planet and beyond,” said Robin Bell, AGU President. “The rich diversity of this year’s Fellows exemplifies the cutting edge scholarship, deep knowledge and boundless scientific curiosity that characterizes AGU global membership or more than 60,000.  We are honored to welcome these 62 scientists as AGU Fellows for their critical contributions to Earth and Space Science.”

The 2019 class of Fellows will be recognized during the Honors Tribute on Wednesday, 12 December, Wednesday, 11 December, held during 2019 AGU Fall Meeting 2019 in San Francisco, Calif.

This year’s class of 62 elected Fellows are as follows:

Zuheir Altamimi, Institut National de l’Information Géographique et Forestière and Institut de Physique du Globe de Paris du Globe de Paris

Ronald Amundson, University of California, Berkeley

Jonathan Bamber, University of Bristol

Barbara A. Bekins, U.S. Geological Survey

Jayne Belnap, Southwest Biological Science Center, U.S. Geological Survey

Thomas S. Bianchi, University of Florida

Jean Braun, GFZ Helmholtz Centre Potsdam, and Institute of Earth and Environmental Sciences, University of Potsdam University of Potsdam

Ximing Cai, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Ken Carslaw, University of Leeds

Sinica Benjamin F. Chao, Institute of Earth Sciences, Academia Sinica

Patrick Cordier, Université de Lille

Rosanne D’Arrigo, Lamont-Doherty Earth Observatory of Columbia University

Eric A. Davidson, Appalachian Laboratory, University of Maryland Center for Environmental Science

Gert J. de Lange, Utrecht University

Andrew Dessler, Texas A&M University

Michele K. Dougherty, Imperial College London

Joseph R. Dwyer, University of New Hampshire

James Farquhar, University of Maryland, College Park

Mei-Ching Fok, NASA Goddard Space Flight Center

Piers Forster, University of Leeds

Christian France-Lanord, CNRS Université de Lorraine

Antoinette B. Galvin, University of New Hampshire

Peter R. Gent, National Center for Atmospheric Research

Taras Gerya, ETH Zurich

Dennis Hansell, University of Miami

Ruth A. Harris, Earthquake Science Center, U.S. Geological Survey

Robert M. Hazen, Carnegie Institution for Science

Kosuke Heki, Hokkaido University

Karen Heywood, University of East Anglia

Russell Howard, United States Naval Research Laboratory

Alan G. Jones, Complete MT Solutions Inc. and Dublin Institute for Advanced Studies

Kurt O. Konhauser, University of Alberta

Sonia Kreidenweis, Colorado State University

Technology Kitack Lee, Pohang University of Science and Technology

Zheng-Xiang Li, Curtin University

Jean Lynch-Stieglitz, Georgia Institute of Technology

Kuo-Fong Ma, National Central University and Academia Sinica

Reed Maxwell, Colorado School of Mines

John W. Meriwether, Clemson University (Emeritus) and New Jersey Institute of Technology

Son V. Nghiem, Jet Propulsion Laboratory, California Institute of Technology

Yaoling Niu, Durham University

Thomas H. Painter, Joint Institute for Regional Earth System Science and Technology, University of California, Los Angeles California, Los Angeles

Beth Parker, University of Guelph

Ann Pearson, Harvard University

Graham Pearson, University of Alberta

Lorenzo M. Polvani, Columbia University in the City of New York

Peter Reiners, University of Arizona

Yair Rosenthal, Rutgers University–New Brunswick

Osvaldo Sala, Arizona State University

Edward (Ted) Schuur, Northern Arizona University

Sybil Seitzinger, University of Victoria

Toshihiko Shimamoto, Institute of Geology, China Earthquake Administration

Adam Showman, University of Arizona

Alexander V. Sobolev, Institut des Sciences de la Terre, Université Grenoble Alpes, and Vernadsky Institute of Geochemistry and Analytical Chemistry, Russian Academy of Sciences

Carl Steefel, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory

John Suppe, University of Houston

Karl E. Taylor, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

Meenakshi Wadhwa, Arizona State University

Michael Walter, Carnegie Institution for Science

John Wettlaufer, Yale University and Nordic Institute for Theoretical Physics

Chunmiao Zheng, Southern University of Science and Technology, Shenzhen

Tong Zhu, Peking University


Founded in 1919, AGU is a not-for-profit scientific society dedicated to advancing Earth and space science for the benefit of humanity. We support 60,000 members, who reside in 135 countries, as well as our broader community, through high-quality scholarly publications, dynamic meetings, our dedication to science policy and science communications, and our commitment to building a diverse and inclusive workforce, as well as many other innovative programs. AGU is home to the award-winning news publication Eos, the Thriving Earth Exchange, where scientists and community leaders work together to tackle local issues, and a headquarters building that represents Washington, D.C.’s first net zero energy commercial renovation. We are celebrating our Centennial in 2019. #AGU100