American Geophysical Union Announces 2010–2012 Officers

9 July 2010

Joint Release

WASHINGTON—New leadership for the American Geophysical Union (AGU) took office on 1 July 2010. Each will serve a two-year term in these volunteer leadership positions. The new officers are:

President — Michael J. McPhaden, senior scientist with the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration Pacific Marine Environmental Laboratory and affiliate professor of oceanography at the University of Washington. His major research areas of interest are large-scale ocean dynamics, ocean-atmosphere interactions, and the ocean’s role in climate. He earned a B.S. in physics in 1973 at the State University of New York at Buffalo and his Ph.D. in Physical Oceanography in 1980 at the University of California, San Diego/Scripps Institute of Oceanography.

President-Elect — Carol A. Finn, research geophysicist with the U.S. Geological Survey and affiliate of the Institute of Arctic and Alpine Research, University of Colorado. Her major research interests include geological interpretation of potential field data, volcano hazards, and tectonics. She earned a B.A. in geology in 1978 at Wellesley College, a M.S. in geophysics (1982) and a Ph.D. in geophysics (1988) at the University of Colorado.

General Secretary — Lisa Tauxe, distinguished professor of geophysics at the Scripps Institution of Oceanography. Her major research interests include behavior of the ancient geomagnetic field and applications of paleomagnetism to geological problems. She earned a B.S. as a scholar of the house in 1978 at Yale University, an M.A. in in geology (1980), a M.Phil. (1982) and a Ph.D. in paleomagnetism (1983) at Columbia University.

International Secretary — Francis Albarède, professor of geochemistry at Ecole Normale Supérieure de Lyon. He did his undergraduate studies in Montpellier, France and earned a Ph.D. in geochronology in 1976 at the University of Paris 7. His current fields of interest are geochemistry of the interior of the Earth; analytical developments, physics and chemistry of mantle dynamics; planets and the solar nebula: the early history of terrestrial planets and how one of them became our Earth; and crossfield applications of geochemical concepts and analytical techniques in biology and archeometry.

Past President — Timothy L. Grove, professor of geology at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. His major area of interest is understanding the chemical differentiation processes that have led to the formation of the crust and mantle of the Earth and similar planets, including the Moon, Mars and meteorite parent bodies. He earned three degrees in geology: a B.A (1971) at the University of Colorado, an A.M. (1975) and Ph.D. (1976) at Harvard University.

“I am honored to lead this outstanding group of officers, along with the many other volunteers who serve on our Board of Directors, Council, and other leadership groups, McPhaden said. “AGU has gone through tremendous change and growth during the past two years. This group of leaders will play a critical role in building on the new foundations we have established to advance Earth and space science and their relevance to society