American Geophysical Union Announces 2013 Awards, Medals, and Prizes Honorees

30 July 2013

WASHINGTON, DC—The American Geophysical Union (AGU) has announced its 2013 awardees, medalists and prize winners. These individuals are recognized for their breakthrough achievements in advancing Earth and space science and their outstanding contributions and service to the scientific community. Their passion, vision, creativity, and leadership have expanded scientific understanding, illuminated new research directions, and made Earth and space science thrilling, immediate, and relevant to audiences beyond as well as within the scientific community. The honorees will be recognized during the Honors Tribute at the 2013 AGU Fall Meeting, which will take place on Wednesday, 11 December 2013 in San Francisco.


William Bowie Medal
Raymond Roble, National Center for Atmospheric Research, Boulder, Colo.

James B. Macelwane Medal
Jesse Kroll, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering and Department of Chemical Engineering, Cambridge, Mass. Motohiko Murakami, Tohoku University Sonia Seneviratne, ETH Zurich

John Adam Fleming Medal
Spiro Antiochos, NASA Goddard Flight Space Center, Greenbelt, Md.

Maurice Ewing Medal
Mark Cane, Lamont-Doherty Earth Observatory, Palisades, N.Y.

Harry H. Hess Medal
Bernard Wood, University of Oxford, Oxford, UK

Robert E. Horton Medal
Soroosh Sorooshian, University of California, Irvine

Inge Lehmann Medal
Bradford Hager, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Earth Resources Lab, Cambridge, Mass.

Roger Revelle Medal
Kuo-Nan Liou, University of California, Los Angeles


Robert C. Cowen Award for Sustained Achievement in Science Journalism
Geoffrey Haines-Stiles, Passport to Knowledge/GHSPi Erna Akuginow, Passport to Knowledge/GHSPi

Excellence in Geophysical Education Award
Tamara Ledley, Center for Science Teaching and Learning at TERC, Cambridge, Mass.

Charles S. Falkenberg Award
Chelle Gentemann, Remote Sensing Systems, Santa Rosa, Calif.

Edward A. Flinn III Award
John Labrecque, National Aeronautics and Space Administration, Science Mission

International Award
Jaime Urrutia Fucugauchi, Universidad Nacional Autonoma de Mexico, Mexico City, Mexico

David Perlman Award for Excellence in Science Journalism–News Award
Paul Voosen, The Chronicle of Higher Education/GreenWire

Science for Solutions Award
Solomon Hsiang, Princeton University, Princeton, N.J.

Athelstan Spilhaus Award
Iain Stewart, University of Plymouth, UK

Walter Sullivan Award for Excellence in Science Journalism–Features
Tim Folger, Freelancer


Climate Communications Prize
Kevin Trenberth, National Center for Atmospheric Research, Boulder, Colo.

Learn more about the AGU Honors program.

The American Geophysical Union is dedicated to advancing the Earth and space sciences for the benefit of humanity through its scholarly publications, conferences, and outreach programs. AGU is a not-for-profit, professional, scientific organization representing more than 62,000 members in 144 countries. Join our conversation on FacebookTwitterYouTube, and other social media channels.