American Geophysical Union Announces 2014 Awards, Medals, and Prizes Honorees

30 June 2014

WASHINGTON, DC—The American Geophysical Union (AGU) has announced its 2014 awardees, medalists and prize honorees. These individuals are recognized for their breakthrough achievements in advancing Earth and space science and their outstanding contributions and service to the scientific community. Their passion, vision, creativity, and leadership have expanded scientific understanding, illuminated new research directions, and made Earth and space science thrilling, immediate, and relevant to audiences beyond as well as within the scientific community. The honorees will be recognized during the Honors Tribute at the 2014 AGU Fall Meeting, which will take place on Wednesday, 17 December 2014 in San Francisco.


William Bowie Medal
Hiroo Kanamori, California Institute of Technology, Pasadena, Calif.

Walter H. Bucher Medal
Bryan Isacks, Cornell University, Ithaca, N.Y.

Maurice Ewing Medal
John Andrews Whitehead, Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution, Woods Hole, Mass.

John Adam Fleming Medal
Gary Glatzmaier, University of California Santa Cruz, Santa Cruz, Calif.

Harry H. Hess Medal
Donald DePaolo, University of California Berkeley, Berkeley, Calif.

Robert E. Horton Medal
W. James Shuttleworth, University of Arizona, Tucson, Ariz.

Inge Lehmann Medal
Thorne Lay, University of California Santa Cruz, Santa Cruz, Calif.

James B. Macelwane Medal
Rajdeep Dasgupta, Rice University, Houston, Texas
Christian Frankenberg, NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory, Pasadena, Calif.
J. Taylor Perron, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge, Mass.
David Shuster, University of California Berkeley, Berkeley, Calif.
Jessica Tierney, Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution, Woods Hole, Mass.

Roger Revelle Medal
Christopher Field, Carnegie Institution for Science, Washington, D.C.

Charles A. Whitten Medal
Paul Segall, Stanford University, Stanford, Calif.


Ambassador Award
Ghassem Asrar, Joint Global Research Institute, College Park, Md.
Paul Hsieh, United States Geological Survey, Menlo Park, Calif.
Scott Mandia, Suffolk County Community College, Selden, N.Y.
James Overland, Pacific Marine Environmental Laboratory, Seattle, Wash.
Michael Wysession, Washington University in St. Louis, St Louis, Mo.

Excellence in Geophysical Education Award
R. Heather Macdonald, College of William and Mary, Williamsburg, Va.

Charles S. Falkenberg Award
Curt Tilmes, National Aeronautics and Space Administration, Greenbelt, Md.

Edward A. Flinn III Award
Daniel Fornari, Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution, Woods Hole, Mass.

International Award
Mioara Mandea, CNES French National Center for Space Studies, Paris, France

David Perlman Award for Excellence in Science Journalism–News Award
Andrew Grant, Science News

Science for Solutions Award
Chigomezyo Ngwira, Catholic University of America, Washington, D.C.

Waldo E. Smith Award
Meinrat Andreae, Max Planck Institute for Chemistry, Mainz, Germany

Athelstan Spilhaus Award
Simon Lamb, Victoria University of Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand

Walter Sullivan Award for Excellence in Science Journalism–Features
Elizabeth Kolbert, The New Yorker


Climate Communications Prize
Katharine Hayhoe, Texas Tech University, Lubbock, Texas

Learn more about the AGU Honors program.

The American Geophysical Union is dedicated to advancing the Earth and space sciences for the benefit of humanity through its scholarly publications, conferences, and outreach programs. AGU is a not-for-profit, professional, scientific organization representing more than 62,000 members in 144 countries. Join our conversation on FacebookTwitter, YouTube, and other social media channels.

AGU Contact:

Joan Buhrman, 1+ 202 777-7509, [email protected]