American Geophysical Union Announces 2018 Fellows

10 August 2018

For Immediate Release

Contact: Joan Buhrman, +1 (202) 777-7509, [email protected]

American Geophysical Union Announces 2018 Fellows

WASHINGTON, DC—The American Geophysical Union (AGU) today announced its 2018 Fellows, an honor given to individual AGU members who have made exceptional scientific contributions and gained prominence in their respective fields of Earth and space sciences. Since the AGU Fellows program was established in 1962, and according to the organization’s bylaws, no more than 0.1 percent of the total membership of AGU is recognized annually. This year’s class of Fellows are geographically diverse coming from 21 countries.

“AGU Fellows are recognized for their outstanding contributions to scholarship and discovery in the Earth and space sciences. Their work pushes the limits of human knowledge by helping to understand better the complex world and universe around us and to build the knowledge base for a more sustainable future,” said Eric Davidson, AGU President. “The rich diversity of disciplines and career backgrounds of this year’s Fellows is evidence of the great scholarship, depth and breadth of knowledge, and profound scientific curiosity of AGU’s global membership of more than 60,000. We are pleased to recognize and honor the newest class of Fellows for their significant and lasting contributions to the Earth and space sciences.”

The 2018 class of Fellows will be recognized during the Honors Tribute on Wednesday, 12 December, held during the 2018 AGU Fall Meeting in Washington, DC.

This year’s class of 62 elected Fellows are as follows:

  1. Jess F. Adkins, California Institute of Technology
  2. Donald F. Argus, Jet Propulsion Laboratory, California Institute of Technology
  3. Paul A. Baker, Duke University
  4. Cecilia M. Bitz, University of Washington
  5. Nina C. Buchmann, ETH Zurich
  6. Marc W. Caffee, Purdue University
  7. Gregory R. Carmichael, University of Iowa
  8. Andrew Cohen, University of Arizona
  9. Patrick M. Crill, Bolin Centre for Climate Research, Stockholm University
  10. Thomas L. Delworth, Geophysical Fluid Dynamics Laboratory, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration
  11. Donna Eberhart-Phillips, GNS Science and University of California, Davis
  12. Kerry Emanuel, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  13. Andrew T. Fisher, University of California, Santa Cruz
  14. Marilyn L. Fogel, University of California, Riverside
  15. Hayley J. Fowler, University of Newcastle
  16. S. Peter Gary, Los Alamos National Laboratory (Retired)
  17. Steven J. Ghan, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory
  18. Joris Gieskes, Scripps Institution of Oceanography, University of California, San Diego
  19. Karl-Heinz Glassmeier, Technische Universität Braunschweig
  20. Dorothy K. Hall, University of Maryland and Cryospheric Sciences Laboratory, NASA Goddard Space Flight Center
  21. Charles Franklin Harvey, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  22. Sidney R. Hemming, Columbia University in the City of New York
  23. Benjamin P. Horton, Nanyang Technological University
  24. Bruce F. Houghton, University of Hawai‘i at Mānoa
  25. Catherine Jeandel, Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique, Université de Toulouse
  26. Tomoo Katsura, University of Bayreuth
  27. Kimitaka Kawamura, Chubu University
  28. Simon L. Klemperer, Stanford University
  29. Cin-Ty Lee, Rice University
  30. Jos Lelieveld, Max Planck Institute for Chemistry and the Cyprus Institute
  31. Philippe Lognonné, Institut de Physique du Globe de Paris, Université Paris Diderot
  32. Timothy William Lyons, University of California, Riverside
  33. Trevor McDougall, University of New South Wales
  34. Bruno Merz, GFZ German Research Centre for Geosciences and University of Potsdam
  35. Stephen A. Montzka, Earth System Research Laboratory, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration
  36. Rumi Nakamura, Space Research Institute, Austrian Academy of Sciences
  37. Heidi Nepf, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  38. Victor P. Pasko, Pennsylvania State University
  39. Adina Paytan, University of California, Santa Cruz
  40. Christa D. Peters-Lidard, NASA Goddard Space Flight Center
  41. Balaji Rajagopalan, University of Colorado Boulder
  42. Cesar R. Ranero, Catalan Institution for Research and Advanced Studies
  43. Geoffrey D. Reeves, Los Alamos National Laboratory
  44. Josh Roering, University of Oregon
  45. David B. Rowley, University of Chicago
  46. Vincent J. M. Salters, Florida State University
  47. Gavin A. Schmidt, NASA Goddard Institute for Space Studies
  48. Richard Seager, Lamont-Doherty Earth Observatory of Columbia University
  49. Nikolai Shapiro, Institut de Physique du Globe de Paris and Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique
  50. Eli A. Silver, University of California, Santa Cruz
  51. Mark Simons, California Institute of Technology
  52. Bradley S. Singer, University of Wisconsin–Madison
  53. Lee Slater, Rutgers University–Newark
  54. David G. Tarboton, Utah State University
  55. Doerthe Tetzlaff, Leibniz Institute of Freshwater Ecology and Inland Fisheries, Humboldt University, and University of Aberdeen
  56. Friedhelm von Blanckenburg, GFZ German Research Centre for Geosciences
  57. Christopher R. Webster, Jet Propulsion Laboratory, California Institute of Technology
  58. Naohiro Yoshida, Tokyo Institute of Technology
  59. Vladimir E. Zakharov, University of Arizona
  60. Fuqing Zhang, Pennsylvania State University
  61. Pei-Zhen Zhang, Sun Yat-sen University
  62. Francis W. Zwiers, Pacific Climate Impacts Consortium, University of Victoria

Learn more about the AGU Fellows program.

The American Geophysical Union is dedicated to advancing the Earth and space sciences for the benefit of humanity through its scholarly publications, conferences, and outreach programs. AGU is a not-for-profit, professional, scientific organization representing nearly 60,000 members in 139 countries. Join the conversation on FacebookTwitter, YouTube, and AGU’s other social media channels.