American Geophysical Union Announces 2015 Medals, Awards and Prizes Recipients

23 July 2015

WASHINGTON, DC—The American Geophysical Union (AGU) has announced its 2015 medalists, awardees and prize recipients. These individuals are recognized for their breakthrough achievements in advancing Earth and space science and their outstanding contributions and service to the scientific community. Their passion, vision, creativity, and leadership have expanded scientific understanding, illuminated new research directions, and made Earth and space science thrilling, immediate, and relevant to audiences beyond as well as within the scientific community. The honorees will be recognized during the Honors Tribute at the 2015 AGU Fall Meeting, which will take place on Wednesday, 16 December 2015 in San Francisco.


William Bowie Medal
Wilfried H. Brutsaert, Cornell University

James B. Macelwane Medal
Paul Cassak, West Virginia University
Bethany L. Ehlmann, California Institute of Technology
Colette L. Heald, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Matthew G. Jackson, University of California, Santa Barbara
Katharine Maher, Stanford University

John Adam Fleming Medal
Andrew F. Nagy, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor

Maurice Ewing Medal
Russ E. Davis, Scripps Institution of Oceanography

Robert E. Horton Medal
Günter Blöschl, Vienna University of Technology

Harry H. Hess Medal
Claude P. Jaupart, Institut de Physique du Globe de Paris

Roger Revelle Medal
Anne M. Thompson, NASA Goddard Space Flight Center

Inge Lehmann Medal
Peter Olson, Johns Hopkins University


Ambassador Award
Charles R. Chappell, Vanderbilt University
Lucile Jones, U.S. Geological Survey
Gordon McBean, University of Western Ontario

Edward A. Flinn III Award
Sonia Esperanca and Robin L. Reichlin, National Science Foundation

Charles S. Falkenberg Award
Benjamin L. Preston, Oak Ridge National Laboratory

Athelstan Spilhaus Award
Holly Robin Gilbert, NASA Goddard Space Flight Center

International Award
Peter John Webster, Georgia Institute of Technology

Robert C. Cowen Award for Sustained Achievement in Science Journalism
Andrew Revkin, The New York Times

Walter Sullivan Award for Excellence in Science Journalism — Features
Douglas Fox, Freelance Writer

David Perlman Award for Excellence in Science Journalism — News Award
Sandi Doughton, The Seattle Times


The Asahiko Taira International Scientific Ocean Drilling Research Prize
Fumio Inagaki, Japan Agency for Marine-Earth Science and Technology

Climate Communications Prize
Richard C. J. Somerville, Scripps Institution of Oceanography

Learn more about the AGU Honors program.

The American Geophysical Union is dedicated to advancing the Earth and space sciences for the benefit of humanity through its scholarly publications, conferences, and outreach programs. AGU is a not-for-profit, professional, scientific organization representing nearly 60,000 members in 139 countries. Join the conversation on FacebookTwitter, YouTube, and AGU’s other social media channels.

AGU Contact:

Joan Buhrman, 1+ 202 777-7509, [email protected]