American Geophysical Union experts available for interviews on Halabja earthquake

13 November 2017


WASHINGTON, DC — At approximately 11:18 p.m. local time on November 12, 2017, a magnitude 7.3 earthquake occurred on the Iran–Iraq border, just inside Iran, roughly 32 kilometers (20 miles) southwest of the city of Halabja, Iraq. At least 400 people were killed and thousands more injured in the quake, which is believed to be the deadliest earthquake of 2017, according to news agencies. The earthquake triggered landslides in mountainous regions of the Iran-Iraq border and has the potential to generate many more landslides as time goes on, writes Dave Petley on The Landslide Blog, hosted by the American Geophysical Union.

In the wake of this event, several American Geophysical Union experts are available to comment on the science of earthquakes and the potential impacts of this earthquake for the region.

Gregory Beroza
Stanford University
Email: beroza@stanford.edu
Phone: +1 (650) 723-4958

Alison Bird
Natural Resources Canada
Email: albird@nrcan.gc.ca
Phone: +1 (250) 363-6432

Jeffrey Park
Yale University
Email: jeffrey.park@yale.edu
Phone: +1 (203) 432-3172

Dave Petley
University of Sheffield, United Kingdom
Email: d.n.petley@sheffield.ac.uk

Cindi Preller
NOAA
Email: cindi.preller@noaa.gov
Phone: +1 (907) 271-3352

Valerie Sahakian
U.S. Geological Survey
Email: vsahakian@usgs.gov
Phone: +1 (650) 329-5153

Robert Smith
University of Utah
Email: robert.b.smith@utah.edu
Phone: +1 (801) 581-7129

Ross Stein
U.S. Geological Survey
Email: rstein@usgs.gov
Phone: +1 (650) 329-4840

Ben van der Pluijm
University of Michigan
Email: vdpluijm@umich.edu
Phone: +1 (734) 763-0373

###

The American Geophysical Union is dedicated to advancing the Earth and space sciences for the benefit of humanity through its scholarly publications, conferences, and outreach programs. AGU is a not-for-profit, professional, scientific organization representing more than 60,000 members in 139 countries. Join the conversation on FacebookTwitterYouTube, and our other social media channels.


AGU Contact:

Lauren Lipuma
+1 (202) 777-7396
llipuma@agu.org